City University London banner

It is my great pleasure to announce that in 2013 I will be joining the Department of Information Science at City University London as Lecturer in Library Science. I will be conducting research and teaching “New Publishing Models” and “The Digital Humanities” from term 2.

Words cannot fully describe how honoured I am to have been selected for this position; I’ll be joining the incredibly talented team led by Lyn Robinson and David Bawden at the Centre for Information Science (CIS).

Established within the School of Informatics at City University London, CIS is dedicated to research, teaching and scholarship of information science in the context of different domains and influenced by developing technologies. The Centre’s specific interests are in human information behaviour; information organisation; information history; foundations of the information sciences; and the idea of the information sciences as liberal arts. The Masters programmes have a focus on GLAM (galleries, libraries, archives and museums) sector issues; collection management; culture and heritage information and informatics; digital humanities; social informatics; and publishing.

For me personally it’s been a very long journey, and I would have not made it to this point without the help, encouragement and support of several colleagues, family and friends.

My most sincere thanks in particular to Melissa Terras and Claire Warwick, my supervisors at University College London; everyone at the UCL Centre for Digital Humanities; Willard McCarty and Andrew Prescott at King’s College London; Roger Sabin at the University of the Arts London and Euan Adie at Altmetric. I cannot mention here everyone whose help was essential: you know who you are. Thank you.

We are going through a period of profound transformation in Higher Education; recent developments in digital information technologies have brought to the fore the enduring relevance of Library and Information Science and related disciplines. These changes are also expressed through the new ways in which scholarly communications are taking place, and consequently in a transformation of academic culture as a whole, including the traditional methods of teaching, research and academic career assessment and professional development. I see my new appointment as a unique opportunity to continue engaging with these transformations from within.

I cannot wait to share my expertise in digital scholarship, cultural studies, publishing and the digital humanities with City LIS students and to continuing my research projects in collaboration with peers from several institutions inside and outside academia in the UK and abroad. I am very much aware of the incredible privilege and responsibility that this entails, and I look forward to facing the challenges and to creating new opportunities.

For once in a very long time the future looks bright and beautiful from here.

Happy new year 2013!